help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

2018 - 2020 National Alumni Board Members
Mr. William Johnson, President
Dr. TaKeshia L. Thomas, Vice President
Mrs. Jacquelyn Lee, Treasurer
Ms. Carolyn Jackson, Secretary
Mrs. Edna York Cade, Member At Large
Mr. Ransom Hill Jr., Member At Large
Mrs. Brenda Hopson, Member At Large
Mr. Melvin S. Jefferson, Member At Large
Joycia C. Ricks, Immediate Past President
Atty. Betty Walker - General Counsel

However, you must "Clear the Cache of your Browser" if you receive a message that it is not "Secure" 

News / Articles

Mr. Hines from Barack Obama Elementary earns state honor

 | Published on 9/17/2019
Mr. Hines from Barack Obama Elementary earns state honor
Mr. Hines stands with superintendent and principal For half a day on Friday, September 13, 2019, DeKalb County School District’s Barack H. Obama Magnet School of Technology transformed into a hub of celebration, fellowship and good will.

Pre-kindergarten teacher Johnathon Hines was named the 2019-2020 Georgia Pre-K Teacher of the Year by the Georgia Department of Education’s Bright from the Start Department of Early Care and Learning. As a winner, Hines received a check for $7,500 which includes a personal stipend of $3,000, $2,500 to use for a classroom makeover and $2,000 for Barack Obama Elementary.

Barack H. Obama Magnet School, DCSD and Bright from the Start representatives joined Hines’ family and friends on the morning of September 13 for a surprise celebration and formal check presentation.

Hines was told there would be a surprise reader for his two classes and that he should be prepa

The Albany State University Alumni Association is a Corporation, a legally recognized organization under the laws of the State of Georgia. The Association is classified as a non-profit, tax-exempt organization formed solely for philanthropic purposes.